27 Comments

I wonder if libraries acquire many heterodox books? It would be an interesting study. Simon Elmer is right to wonder if speaking out about the changes will be allowed.

There is so much censorship by omission these days we don't even know is happening. Lately I've been following the "Twitter Files." Yesterday the topic was the "Virality Project" out of Stanford a sweeping, cross-platform effort to monitor billons of social media posts.

https://twitter.com/mtaibbi/status/1636729166631432195

Expand full comment
author

I just listened to Matt Taibbi and Walter Kirn discussing that on "America this Week." Disturbing. I am losing all respect for academia.

Kirn is a boomer but Matt Taibbi, Glenn Greenwald, Jimmy Dore, Meghan Daum, John McWhorter... all Xers.

Expand full comment

I listen to AMERICA THIS WEEK on Fridays, too. I sense a little bit of Sisyphean task between them. The description of the NGOs and Think Tanks on campuses as an OCTOPUS ORGY was hysterical. And WK is so dead-pan.

There is so much $$$ coming to universities on these topics. I see it in campus news. A lot of the people engaged in the disinformation work are contractors and aren't the slow slog faculty who are oblivious to the Think-Tanks or Institutes that are in plain sight.

Expand full comment
author

Had you heard of Simon Elmer? I haven't read his book but follow him on twitter.

Expand full comment

No, but I am going to follow-up. I think the concern is growing.

Expand full comment
author

We could learn a lot about social housing from him. I see CA is now building tiny houses.

Expand full comment
author

He thinks the housing crisis is manufactured, but I have only heard him briefly discuss his thoughts on that.

Expand full comment
author

Also see my reply below about Elmer's book.

Expand full comment
author

Wesley Yang-- another GenXer.

Expand full comment

I was hoping for at least a book review, not an interview. I almost never listen to podcasts and YouTube's. It takes way too much time and has very low bandwidth. Consequently, there's not enough to go on here to induce me to buy this book, and based on the last paragraph, probably a waste of time asking about it at my local library.

Expand full comment
author

There is a link to the description of the book but unfortunately I can't find a review. It was also self-published, so to be fair to libraries, those two things usually disqualify a purchase. I am wondering if that library copy was a donation. Also the print version may already be out of print.

He is a very eloquent speaker so I imagine it's a good book but he did mention something about the politics of the publishing world these days. Probably difficult to get something like that published.

Expand full comment

The first thing I did when I read your comment about libraries was to check to see who it was published by. I saw "Architects for Social Housing," but didn't know until your comment that it was self-published. I wonder if he tried to find a university press or whether self-publishing was his first choice. And of course you're right - how would a librarian even know of a self-pub'd book with no reviews?

Expand full comment

I have been reading an Orwell biography. He had failed getting Animal Farm published because so many publishers (Like TS Eliot at Faber) thought it might hurt the war effort by pissing off Stalin. Orwell organized a loan to self-publish it, but just before he did so it was accepted by a 4th publisher (who held it until after the war).

Expand full comment
author

And he is also based in the UK, another hurdle.

Expand full comment
author

I just found one review but not in a source librarians would typically use: https://dailysceptic.org/2022/12/11/woke-is-fascist-reflections-on-simon-elmers-new-book/

Expand full comment

You must not fold much laundry!

Expand full comment
author
Mar 18, 2023Liked by S. Anderson

Wow. I'm impressed. Thanks! Good review. I'm going to try to find a copy.

Expand full comment
Mar 18, 2023Liked by S. Anderson

The book has 2 customer reviews on Amazon -- a 5 star and a 1 star.

Expand full comment
Mar 18, 2023Liked by S. Anderson

The Heterodox Movement needs a printing press and backers.

Expand full comment

Very true!! Books need to pass the “known publisher”, “has reviews” tests to be added to the collections

Expand full comment

The mindless things I have to do can hurt me if I'm not paying attention.

Expand full comment

OK, yes, admit some sox mismatched when I listen.

Expand full comment
author

I actually have more time for podcasts than reading because I can listen while cleaning my house, cooking, driving, and hiking.

Expand full comment